Our Mission Statement

The Virginia Hunting Dog Alliance is working to secure, for posterity, the heritage of hunting with dogs in the Commonwealth of Virginia and to promote and advance the opportunities to use dogs for hunting through aggressive educational programs and political action. Educational programs will promote hunting with dogs to the general public, the sportsmen’s community and elected officials. Political action may include all state and local offices (excluding Federal elections, but may include issues at the Federal level) and will include lobbying the members of the Virginia General Assembly in support of the right to hunt with dogs.

The Virginia Hunting Dog Alliance is a Committee of autonomous organizations and individuals working in conjunction with each other under the umbrella of the Commonwealth Sportsmen’s Alliance, Inc., a Virginia Political Action Committee.

VIRGINIA HUNTING DOG ALLIANCE - Represents Virginia Hunters and Dog Owners

• At the Virginia General Assembly

• With the Department of Game & Inland Fisheries

• Before Local County Government

-Animal Control - Dog Ordinances
-Zoning - Kennel licenses
-County Hunting and Gun Laws

• With expert testimony assisting in selected
    Hunting and Dog law cases

• Promotes Ethical Hunting and Dog Ownership

Virginia Hunting Dog Alliance - Board of Directors

John Morse, Chairman - Chesapeake
Robin France, Vice Chairman - Richmond Co.
Todd Miller – Secretary, King and Queen
Robert Bishop, Treasurer - Powhatan Co.
Allan Bishop, Board Member- Hanover Co.
Chuck Ellsworth, Board Member - Cumberland Co.
David Carpenter – Stafford County
Brian Mothershead, Board Member - Richmond Co.
Larry Moyer – Albemarle County
Curtis Peace – Henrico County
Steve Winder, Board Member - Essex Co.

Ronny Wilson, Board Member - Gloucester Co.
Reg Cook, Board Member - Mecklenburg Co.
Bryan Morris DVM, Board Member - Charlotte Co.
Jimmy Connelly, - Board Member - Dinwiddie Co.
David Irvin, Board Member - Chesterfield Co.
Joe Miller, Board Member - Sussex Co.
Jerry Brumfield - Pittsylvania County
Carter Garnett - King William Co.
Kirby Burch, Chief Operating Officer - Powhatan Co.
Arthur Irving - New Kent
VA Bear Hunter Representative – Various

Virginia County Chapters

County Chapters serve as the first line of Defense and are the basis of grassroots action. The Chapters and their Chairman are listed below.

Accomac - Joseph Harrison
Albemarle – Larry Moyer
Amelia - David Felts
Appomattox - Dennis Scott
Augusta - Forming
Brunswick - Andy Daniel
Buchanan - Chris Riddle
Buckingham - Dennis “Boogy” Davis
New Kent And Charles City - Curtis Peace (Chickahominy)
Campbell - Forming
Caroline - Matthew Whittaker
Charlotte – Derick Toombs (U.E. V.H.D.A.)
Culpeper - Forming
Cumberland - Kevin Meadows
Dinwiddie - Jimmy Connelly
District 24 – Daniel Mowry (Allegany, Amherst, Augusta, Rockbridge, Bath)
Essex - Dwayne Davis
Fauquier - Forming
Gloucester - Ronny Wilson
Goochland - Huck Gibson
Greensville - Forming
Halifax – Kyle Long
Isle of Wight - Jim Carr
King & Queen -Todd Miller
King William - Carter Garnett
King George - Rob Jett
Louisa - Carl Lacy
Mathews – Chris Hudgins
Mecklenburg - Jaime Smiley
Middlesex – Stone Shores
Nelson – Charles “Junior” Taylor
Northumberland - Blaine Swann
Nottoway – Brian Wooten
Orange - Forming
Pittsylvania - Cliff Trammel
Powhatan - Brad Melton
Prince Edward - Forming
Prince George - Jim Hackett
Richmond County - Brian Mothershead
Southampton - Richard Railey
Spotsylvania - Steve Bennett
Stafford - David Carpenter
Suffolk - Jay White
Sussex - Chad Ellis
Tidewater - Tim Ross
Westmoreland - Kelly Presson

More Chapters are planned in the near future. To find out how to start a Chapter in your area contact info@vahda. org


About Us   •   Contact Us   •   Donate   •   Hats and More   •   FAQs   •   Helpful Links   •   Resources

Authorized and Paid for by the Commonwealth Sportsmen’s Alliance Inc.

Site Created by J-TEC and hosted by Sitevision